Safe Mode: On
Mubarak Supporters & Protesters Clash In Egypt

Egypt crisis: Men charge into crowd on horseback, camels
[Update 3:17 p.m. Cairo, 8:17 a.m. ET] As hundreds of men lined up to kneel and pray in the street, a crowd less than 100 feet away could be seen surrounding and beating a man.

[Update 2:58 p.m. Cairo, 7:58 a.m. ET] Men on horseback and camels charged into the crowd at Cairo's Tahrir Square, some of them lashing people on the ground with whips. Several were pulled off their animals and beaten, and the others retreated. CNN's Ivan Watson said the horseback riders came from the pro-Mubarak side of the demonstration.

[Update 2:49 p.m. Cairo, 7:49 a.m. ET] The stone-throwing and fighting at Tahrir Square have suddenly stopped and people are hugging and chanting "We are one," CNN's Ivan Watson reports from his vantage point.

[Update 2:46 p.m. Cairo, 7:46 a.m. ET] CNN's Amir Ahmed said he has seen people with blood flowing from their heads after being injured by rocks. The clashes appear to be spreading to streets near the square, he said.

[Update 2:32 p.m. Cairo, 7:32 ET] Demonstrators for and against President Hosni Mubarak are throwing rocks at each other on Tahrir Square, CNN's Ben Wedeman reports. Police are absent from the square and military personnel are hanging back, he says.

[Update 2:19 p.m. Cairo, 7:19 a.m. ET] Competing rallies were being held Wednesday in Alexandria, Egypt, with several thousand people protesting against President Hosni Mubarak and a few hundred others supporting him, CNN Correspondent Nic Robertson reported.

In Cairo, Mubarak supporters broke through a barricade that had separated them from anti-government protesters in Tahrir Square. The military surrounded the square but there was nothing between the two sides to keep them apart.

[Update 12:37 p.m. Wednesday in Cairo, 5:37 a.m. ET Wednesday]The U.S. State Department "ordered departure" evacuation starts Wednesday with chartered planes planned to start flying out nonemergency personnel, their relatives and any American citizens who wish to evacuate.

Internet access is back in at least parts of Egypt, CNN has confirmed

[Update 11:51 a.m. Wednesday in Cairo, 4:51 a.m. ET Wednesday] The Egyptian defense ministry on Wednesday urged the youth to go back home, saying "your message is received ... your demands became known."

"And we are here and awake to protect the country for you," a spokesman for the ministry said in a television broadcast. "Not by power but by the love to Egypt ... it is time to go back to normal life."

[Update 11:28 a.m. Wednesday in Cairo, 4:28 a.m. ET Wednesday] Yemeni President Ali Abdullah Saleh said Wednesday he will not run for president nor hand over power to his son once his term ends in 2013. "No extension, no inheritance," he told parliament.

In recent weeks, thousands have taken to the streets in Yemen demanding the the kind of change that Egypt wants. Saleh has been in office for 32 years.

[Update 9:19 a.m. Wednesday in Cairo, 2:19 a.m. ET Wednesday] Shortly after sunrise Wednesday, Cairo's Tahrir Square was already packed with demonstrators - including families staying in tents with children.

Some demonstrators chanted in favor of Mubarak early Wednesday, calling the press "traitors" and "agents."

Australian Prime Minister Julia Gillard said the government would provide an emergency flight for Australians affected by the unrest in Egypt. The flight will depart Cairo on Wednesday, according to a statement from her
office.

British carrier BMI says it has organized an extra flight to help British nationals get back to the United Kingdom from Egypt.

The British Foreign Office is sending a charter flight to Cairo on Wednesday to fly back British citizens with no other way to get home, the office said.

Egypt's national airline, EgyptAir, canceled flights until 10 a.m. Wednesday (3 a.m. ET), according to state television.

Greece has sent military aircraft to evacuate 215 Greeks from Egypt, the official Athens News Agency said.


Click to view image: '028e75d28f30-t1largpromubarakgi.jpg'

Added: Feb-2-2011 Occurred On: Feb-2-2011
By: EyeMaster
In:
Middle East
Tags: Egypt, riots, Mubarak, supporters, protesters, clash, blog
Views: 8790 | Comments: 9 | Votes: 0 | Favorites: 0 | Shared: 0 | Updates: 0 | Times used in channels: 1
You need to be registered in order to add comments! Register HERE